State of Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Application must be completed for your license after you have successfully concluded the Ohio CCW class with 2 hours of live fire, on the range, and have received your CCW Course Certificate from a qualified instructor.
A concealed carry permit issued by another state is valid in Ohio so long as the permit holder is not an Ohio resident and is in the state temporarily.
You must apply for a permit at the county sheriff’s office where you reside or in an adjacent county for a Payment of a non-refundable fee of $67.00. Payment may be in the form of a MONEY ORDER or a CERTIFIED CASHIER'S check. You must be a legal resident of the United States and an Ohio resident for 45 days before you apply for your license. You must be a resident of the county (or adjoining county) where you apply for at least 30 days.
The sheriff will issue a permit within 45 days, depending on the county, of receipt of a completed application, provided background check, fingerprints, address history, criminal records, and mental competency all comply.
Needed to bring to the County Sheriff’s Office to apply for the
Ohio Concealed Carry Permit
A valid driver’s license.
A completed State of Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Application.
The class training certificate.
Passport type photo, (2x2).
Fee – money order or a certified cashier's check.
Self addressed stamped envelope, in Greene County.
Renewal of the Ohio CCW License and how long it is valid
The Ohio CCW renewal process is basically the same as the “original” process; however, no class is needed for the first renewal.
A complete new application must be submitted.
A new passport type photo taken within the previous 30 days.
A certificate of competency (original certificate or Ohio CCW license) that is not over 6 years old must be submitted.
The fee is $50.00 for a 5 year renewal, (waived for retired law enforcement).
Ohio Driver’s license or Ohio State I.D. is required.
Scanned or rolled fingerprints will be repeated.
Renewal applications may by submitted up to 90 days, 3 months, and prior to the expiration of
a current Ohio Carry Concealed License.
Applications submitted more than 30 days past expiration will be treated as a “New Application”.
Applications accepted by appointment only in some counties, so call your county Sheriff‘s Office.
Ohio CCW Reciprocity with concealed carry states
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire,
New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming.